Scholarship recipients


Several members of Glenbard East High School’s Class of 2024 received scholarships during the Local Scholarship Awards Night ceremony, which was held in the school’s Biester Auditorium on May 9. The honored students included Raya Schwebl and Kaitlin Murphy, who received Madison Elementary School Parent Teacher Association (PTA) Scholarships of $500 each. Schwebl (left) and Murphy (right) are pictured at the ceremony with Glenbard East Principal Antoine Anderson (middle). The staff at Madison Elementary School selected the recipients of the scholarships, which are awarded to Glenbard East seniors who attended the elementary school. Schwebl, a four-year varsity athlete at Glenbard East, was a member of the Rams’ softball team. She will attend Eastern Illinois University, where she will major in special education. Murphy was a member of Glenbard East’s girls tennis program for four years. She was the varsity team’s captain during her senior year. Murphy will attend the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. She will major in plant biotechnology.