Primary election night wraps up early in DuPage

Republican: Hart ousts DiCianni; garners almost 60% of vote for Board Chair

Democratic: Willis bests challenger for Rep; Yoo, Chaplin, Garcia earn ballot spots


By Dee Longfellow

For The Independent

Tuesday night wrapped up early with most of the races in DuPage County called, although unofficially, just after 11 p.m.

Following are the results of the General Primary Election held Tuesday, June 28. (It should be noted results were unofficial at press time.) DuPage County had a 21.92% turnout with 139,489 ballots cast out of 636,341 registered voters. It is interesting to note that 22,559 Early Voting Ballots were tabulated. A total of 34,518 Vote-By-Mail ballots were requested from the County, while the number of Vote-By-Mail ballots actually tabulated was 20,797.

Listed are contested races in the within the Independent’s readership area:


For U. S. Representative in the 8th Congressional District, challenger Junaid Ahmen was unsuccessful against incumbent Raja Krishnamoorthi, who received more than 70% of the vote.

Incumbent Kathleen Willis faced a challenger for state representative in the 77th District. Norma Hernandez received 41.4% of the vote, while Willis garnered 58.6%.

In the race for one of three spots on the November ballot for County Board District #2, Yeena Yoo held the highest number of votes at 8,230, followed by incumbent Elizabeth Chaplin with 6,326, then Paula Deacon Garcia with 5,751.


For U. S. Representative in the 8th Congressional District, Chris Dargis won the ballot spot, earning about 30% of the vote over four other opponents. Dargis will be up against Krishnamoorthi in November.

Greg Hart handily defeated Pete DiCianni, garnering 38,053 votes to DiCianni’s 25,641. Hart earned the Republican spot on the ballot to face off against Democrat Deb Conroy in the General Election in November.

For County Board member in District 1, the top three vote-getters who earn a place on the November ballot were Sam Tornatore with 4,835, Cindy Cronin Cahill with 4,392, and Donald Puchalski with 4,285. Maria Reyes and Bob Dunn trailed with 2,951 and 2,773 respectively.

For County Board member in District 2, there are three ballot spots available and the first two will be Sean Noonan, the top vote-getter with 7,147, and Daniel Kordik with 4,636. The third spot is still unofficial as the race was extremely close at press time. Nicole Marie Giannini and Jennifer Veremis were within 130 votes of each other.

Again, readers should remember results were unofficial at press time. This story will be updated as more results become official. Information for this story was provided by the DuPage County Board of Elections. For more information, visit