In the Nov. 6 general election, voters in the Lombardian and Independent readership area will find the following federal, state and county races, as well as a township ballot question and propositions on the ballot:


Editor’s note: Candidates running unopposed are not listed.



Representative in Congress, 6th District (Vote for one)

Democrat: Sean Casten

Republican: Peter Roskam

Representative in Congress, 8th District

Democrat: Raja Krishnamoorthi

Republican: Jitendra “JD” Diganvker


State races

Governor and Lt. Governor (Vote for one)

Democrat: JB Pritzker and Juliana Stratton

Republican: Bruce Rauner and Evelyn Sanguinetti

Libertarian: Grayson Kash Jackson and Sanjeev Mohip

Conservative: William “Sam” McCann and Aaron Merreighn


Attorney General (Vote for one)

Democrat: Kwame Raoul

Republican: Erika Harold

Libertarian: Bubba Harsy


Secretary of State (Vote for one)

Democrat: Jesse White

Republican: Jason Helland

Libertarian: Steve Dutner


Comptroller (Vote for one)

Democrat: Susana A. Mendoza

Republican: Darlene Senger

Libertarian: Claire Ball


Treasurer (Vote for one)

Democrat: Michael W. Frerichs

Republican: Jim Dodge

Libertarian: Michael Leheney


Senator, 23rd District (Vote for one)

Democrat: Thomas Cullerton

Republican: Seth Lewis


Senator, 24th District (Vote for one)

Democrat: Suzanne “Suzy” Glowiak

Republican: Chris Nybo


Representative, 46th District (Vote for one)

Democrat: Deb Conroy

Republican: Gordon (Jay) Kinzler


Representative, 47th District (Vote for one)

Democrat: James M. “Jim” Caffrey

Republican: Deanne Marie Mazzochi


Representative, 48th District (Vote for one)

Democrat: Terra Costa Howard

Republican: Peter Breen


DuPage County

County board chairman (Vote for one)

Democrat: Lynn LaPlante

Republican: Dan Cronin


Sheriff (Vote for one)

Democrat: Gregory H. Whalen

Republican: James Mendrick


County Clerk (Vote for one)

Democrat: Jean Kaczmarek

Republican: Paul Hinds


County Board District 1 (Full four-year term; vote for not more than two)

Democrat: Ashley J. Selmon

Democrat: Zahra Suratwala

Republican: Sam Tornatore

Republican: Dino Gavanes


County Board District 2 (Full four-year term; vote for not more than two)

Democrat: Elizabeth (Liz) Chaplin

Republican: Peter “Pete” DiCianni

Republican: Steve Nero


County Board District 3 (Full four-year term; vote for no more than two)

Democrat: Mary FitzGerald Ozog

Democrat: Hadiya Afzal

Republican: Grant Eckhoff

Republican: Christopher J. Zaruba


Forest Preserve District

President of the Forest Preserve (Vote for one)

Democrat: Daniel Hebreard

Republican: Joseph F. Cantore


Commissioner (Vote for one)

Democrat: Irfan M. Ibrahim

Republican: Linda J. Painter



Judge of the 18th Circuit Court (To fill the vacancy of the Honorable Blanche Hill Fawell)

Democrat: Jeffrey M. Jacobson

Republican: Karen M. Wilson


Judge of the 18th Circuit Court (To fill the vacancy of the Honorable Kathryn E. Creswell)

Democrat: Linda E. Davenport

Republican: Jeff MacKay


Judicial Retention

Shall Robert D. McClaren be retained in office as judge of the Appellate Court, Second Judicial District?

Vote Yes or No.


Shall Patrick J. O’Shea be retained in office as judge of the Circuit Court, Eighteenth Judicial District?

Vote Yes or No.


Ballot for judicial candidates seeking retention in office

“Vote on the Proposition with respect to all or any of the Judges listed on this ballot. No Judge listed is running against any other Judge. The sole question is whether each Judge shall be retained in his present office.”



Shall DuPage County oppose the General Assembly instituting a property tax increase equivalent to 1% of your home’s value to help retire state debt?

Vote Yes or No.


Shall DuPage County oppose the creation of a statewide Vehicle Mileage Tax (VMT) which would tax DuPage County citizens based upon the number of miles driven annually?

Vote Yes or No.


Shall DuPage County continue to dissolve and consolidate units of local government to reduce costs, increase efficiencies, and increase accountability?

Vote Yes or No.


York Township

Shall our Representatives and Senators in the U.S. Congress sponsor and/or support measures that will address the serious threat posed by climate change?

Vote Yes or No.


The District 205 Referendum will appear on the November 6th ballot as follows:

“Shall the Board of Education of Elmhurst Community Unit School District Number 205, DuPage and Cook Counties, Illinois, build and equip two school buildings to replace the Field and Lincoln Elementary School Buildings; build and equip additions to and alter, repair and equip existing buildings, including but not limited to improving security, providing STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) facilities, improving energy-efficiency and technology infrastructure and adding classrooms for full-day kindergarten; improve sites; acquire, improve and equip a building for educational purposes and acquire the site thereof and issue bonds of said School District to the amount of $168,500,000 for the purpose of paying the costs thereof?”



Community Consolidated School District 89

Proposition to increase the limiting rate

Shall the limiting rate under the Property Tax Extension Limitation Law for Glen Ellyn Community Consolidated School District Number 89, DuPage County, Illinois, be increased by an additional amount equal to 0.4% above the limiting rate for school purposes for levy year 2017 and be equal to 3.3849% of the equalized assessed value of the taxable property therein for the levy year 2018?

Vote Yes or No.


York Center Fire Protection District

Proposition to issue $3, 000,000 general obligation bonds

Shall the York Center Fire Protection District, DuPage County, Illinois, renovate its fire station and purchase vehicles and equipment and issue its bonds to the amount of $3,000,000 for the purpose of paying the costs thereof?

Vote Yes or No.


For more information, call 630-407-5600 or visit


Comments are closed

Sorry, but you cannot leave a comment for this post.