York presents 2017 Dukes of Distinction
Pictured here at an event held in their honor on Thursday, Nov. 2 in the York High School Commons is the 2017 class of “Dukes of Distinction. They are (from left): Roy Fisher, standing in for his son Brigadier General Thomas Fisher (class of 1986), who could not attend; David Bosse (1980); Blake Byrne, (1953); Mary McEnerney Woolley (1964); Dr. Judith Bond Johnson 1955; and Linda French, (1982). Each person was giv-en the opportunity to tell their story to the guests in the room. They also spent time with York students.

By Dee Longfellow

For The Elmhurst Independent

On Thursday, Nov. 2, a reception was held in the Commons of York High School for this year’s class of Dukes of Distinction. Selected by a committee of judges, the six persons chosen  have distinguished themselves through significant and extraordinary accomplishments, service and outstanding contributions to society. The honorees exemplify the honored York traditions of teamwork and selflessness.

The program began with a welcome by Jay Webb, class of 1975, president of the York High School Alumni Association. York Principal Erin DeLuga served as Master of Ceremonies and introduced Dr. David Moyer, District 205 Superintendent of Schools, and Shannon Ebner, Board of Education president. Ebner and Board vice-president Jim Collins presented the awards.

The honorees

The Dukes of Distinction included: Lt. (ret.) David Bosse, class of 1980; Blake Byrne, class of 1953, Brigadier General Thomas Fisher, class of 1986, represented by Foy and Lucy Fisher; Linda French, class of 1982; Dr. Judith Bond Johnson, clas of 1955; and Mary McEnerney Woolley, class of 1964.

Judges, others involved

The judges, all of whom were York grads, included Karen Chadra (1981); Mark Dyer (1980), Sharon O’Brien (1976), Barbara Szczepaniak (1976), Max Schroeder (2004), Ben Sharko (2007), Brian Thomas (1991), Ashley Tucker (2006) and Kathy Wilson (1965). Those who served on the York Distinguished Alumni Program (YDAP) Committee were Shirley Demeris (1961), DesiGawne (1985), Holly Kost (1979), Sharon O’Brien (1976), Pat Semple (1958), Val Stewart, Karen Stezowski and Les Zunkel (1963).

About the next class

York will be hosting a Centennial Celebration in the fall of 2018, so the next class of Dukes of Distinction will be honored in the fall of 2019. Nominations will be accepting beginning Oct. 1, 2018.



Comments are closed

Sorry, but you cannot leave a comment for this post.